New Pojects, WIP’s, & FO’s

When I was in high school, I took up a new hobby in scrapbooking. I’m totally a shutterbug and had TONS of photos that I wanted to showcase. In my spare time (which was a precious few stolen moments here and there), I started an album reflecting my life. I was definitely an amateur but have always been crafty. I think I may have only completed 6 or 7 (maybe 8??) pages of the album, I just didn’t have the time to devote to it. It got packed away until last summer, when I found it again and it renewed my desire to want to scrapbook. Although this time, I want to do it digitally. I love that you can get perfect corners and lots of print (if journaling is your thing) on a page without it looking sloppy. If you mess something up, well you can hit control + Z or move it again. It’s not as final. I’ve never even considered doing it because I didn’t think I had the right software or digital items. I thought they had to be purchased. And while this is true, there are definitely things you can purchase, there’s also a ton of freebies out there! I’ve only gone through a few sites and have already downloaded so many things that I know will enhance my quite large digital photo gallery! It took a little longer creating my first layout than I thought it would but that is mostly because I’m not very familiar with Adobe Photoshop Elements. Now that I’ve got the hang of it, I don’t think these will take nearly as long. So without further ado, I give you my very first digital scrapbook page!!

ImageI’m incredibly happy with the way this turned out. I can’t wait to do the other pages for our wedding album!

I have a few projects on my needles at the moment. The one I’m working on the most is the Hugs and Kisses Layette from Jean Leinhauser & Rita Weiss’ 100 Knitting ProjectsI’m using Baby Bee’s Sweet Baby Delight in Little Princess. It’s a 60% arcrylic and 40% nylon blend that is machine washable (a must for baby items). It’s incredibly soft and I love the color. I have the back completed so far and started on the left front. The pattern stitch is really easy to remember which is always a plus.

ImageImage

 I’m also working on a Kindle Fire Cozy for my SIL since her Kindle Fire was a little naked (I loved the pattern so much when making mine). I’m using some leftover Malabrigo Merino Worsted in Col China, a beautifully variegated green, burgundy, and red-purple, that’s been sitting in my stash for about 2 years. It’s turning out fantastically so far.

The next thing I’d like to make her is socks and a few more headbands. Headbands are a definite–I already have a pattern in my head that I need to get on paper before I forget–but we’ll see about the socks.

Moving on to sewing…

I’m definitely not a seamstress, probably not even a novice. I’m a true beginner in every sense of the term. With that said, I’m getting really excited about the different projects and items I want to create. I finally got her crib skirt finished (I purchased the fabric the day I went in to labor). It came out so-so. I wasn’t overly happy with it but I’m not overly disappointed either. I found the directions to be confusing when sewing the ruffles onto the base but maybe it was just me. Even still, here’s the finished product (the ends are not actually shorter, there’s bars on either end that make it ride up):ImageThe next sewing project I tried is making my own diaper inserts. I made the first insert from one of Andy’s old flannels and the second one from an old Coors t-shirt. They came out better than I expected and in the process of making them I learned how to finish the edges of objects. I had a lot of fun making them. They’ll fit any sized cloth diaper whether a cover or pocket-style. One thing I really like about using t-shirt material is it’s incredibly soft against her skin, more so than her prefolds. I’m going to try making some prefolds from the leftover flannel material and see how that works.

Image

Another project I’m attempting is making cloth diapers. I found a great tutorial on using t-shirts to make a pocket style diaper (my favorite kind). I’m not using the same template that the site provided because I couldn’t get it to scale right, so I’m using a modified version. I’m not really sure how this is going to work because t-shirts (cotton) is really absorbant so I’m not really sure how this will keep her clothes dry. We’ll see. Here’s the cuts so far (I still have 2 more to do):

ImageI’m hoping it turns out well. If it does, the next one I’m doing for her is a green one that has the Lucky Charm cereal guy. It’s going to be uuber cute! She’s going to be the cutest diapered baby ever! Well, that’s all I’ve got for now so until next time, much love and many blessings!

♥Courtney♥

5 Comments

Filed under Crafting, DIY, FO's, Knitting, Sewing

5 responses to “New Pojects, WIP’s, & FO’s

  1. kezziemae

    When I did the cloth, I used the nylon (?) covers to keep Charlie’s clothes protected. Tracey made them for me and since I’ve accepted my laziness this time around, I’ll see if I can dig them up for you and take a picture to see if you like them / want to copy them / want to HAVE them.

  2. kezziemae

    My comment went away! Anyway, I was saying that when I used cloth diapers for Charlie, I had these nylon (?) covers that protected his clothes from getting wet. Tracey made them for me and I LOVED them. I’m sure I can dig them up and take a picture to show you so you can either make some yourself or HAVE mine (I’ve gone full blown lazy and do disposables with Henry).

  3. kezziemae

    Also, I’m not sure why it says my name is that. It’s Casey!

    • I figured when you said Charlie and Tracey. 🙂 That’d be awesome! It’s not that imperative–whenever you have time. That’s what I thought. Trinity’s are polyester with a PUL coating. That’s what I thought you had to use unless you use wool but then I found that tutorial. Maybe I’m just not understanding the tutorial? Lol! I thought it could be used as an all in one because you stuff it and it has Velcro. It doesn’t make sense to me that it would be a fitted. Idk… I love the covers she has now but she’s almost out of them. I found some really cute PUL material online I might order. I just want to make sure I can actually sew them first since I have el zilcho sewing skills. Lol!

    • It didn’t go away. I moderate my comments so I have to approve them before they’ll appear. I get so many spam ones on this blog.

Leave a Reply

