Christmas doesn’t have to be expensive

This year has been a hardship on so many people financially, including us. While I should have realized this many moons ago, it’s really hit me this year that Christmas-time really isn’t about what you get your friends and family or how much money you spend on them but about the thoughtfulness of the gift. I had a few ideas on how to make our Christmas more economical for our family like knitting each person something (I have a ton of yarn in stash) but then realized that I really don’t have the time to do that. Well, I got a flyer in the mail at the beginning of December from Giant with some great gift ideas that are easy to whip up, creative, and inexpensive. One of those was to make a jar with a drink mix like hot chocolate or cappuccino. I liked that idea but couldn’t find a recipe that sounded “perfect”. I did some research online and found a fantastic recipe for homemade cinnamon pancakes. Now, my family and I all adore pancakes so this seemed like the perfect gift. The other bonus is that I already had all the ingredients so I only had to purchase the jars. That wasn’t so bad either because Kmart still has canning jars and Andy gets a discount. 🙂 So I decided to use my Cricut to make gift tags for each. Here’s a picture of a few of the tags:

I’m a total sucker for crafting and have a habit of keeping all cards I get throughout the year. I decided to use my previous years’ Christmas cards as backgrounds for the instructions. I have to admit that they turned out fantastically. I used crafting scissors to make the edges more fancy:

To dress up the jars a bit, I used some of my scrapbooking ribbon around the lid rims and regular present ribbon around the jar to hold the tags in place. Here’s the finished product:

I’ve made a total of 12 jars so far and have about 6 or 7 more to make. I also tried the pancake recipe and it is fantastic! I’m excited to give a thoughtful and personalized gift without having to spend an arm and a leg.

Until next time, much love and many blessings–Have a Merry Christmas!

♥Courtney♥

Leave a comment

Filed under Christmas, Crafting

Leave a Reply

